inside


Basic Library Guide

Contents List

You can understand the basics with the ★marked contents

■Library Introduction

★How to Use the Komaba Library

  • Stay up-to-date with the latest news by following our SNS account of "X" or visiting the NEWS section on our website.

★ KOMABA LIBRARY TOUR, Facilities Edition

You can get an overview of the facilities of the Komaba Library in this video.
https://youtu.be/OO3Mwuko6sg

★ KOMABA LIBRARY TOUR, Books & Resources Edition

You can get an overview of the books and resources held by the Komaba Library in this video.
https://youtu.be/cRWBIFRX57s

■How to Find Information and Literature

★Tips for Searching Library Books and Resources【Web Seminar】

Let's learn the basics of literature search! These web seminars introduce practical ways to find library books and journal articles using databases. It is nice to practice searching together while watching the video.


Part1 The differences between books and journals
Key points: Features of books and journals, When do you use the library books and resources?
https://youtu.be/LIeVDKsUapA

Part2 Finding Books
Key points: How to find books、UTokyo OPAC, MyOPAC, reservation/delivery、E-journals/E-books
https://youtu.be/IIDH1guC970

Part3 Using databases & E-Journals from off-campus​
Key points: How to access E-resources from outside the University、EZproxy、Literacy websiteDatabase List
https://youtu.be/2OKBlcOpaHk

Part4 Finding journal articles in Japanese​
Key points: How to find Japanese articles, TREE, UTokyo Article Link, UTokyo OPAC, E-journals/printed journals、how to get copy/PDF of papers
https://youtu.be/NigJLvZSlNE

Part 4-2 Finding Journal Articles in Japanese with CiNii Research​
Key points: How to find Japanese articles, CiNii Research, Boolean Searches, UTokyo Article Link, UTokyo OPAC
https://youtu.be/_B_Qjd4Q14s

Part5 Finding journal articles in English
**You need to log in to Google by your ECCS Cloud Mail account to watch Part5.
Key points: How to find English articles, Web of Science, Google Scholar, peer review, phrase search, citation, review articles, prohibited citation
https://youtu.be/7S07li0Xn0w

Tips for Improving Literature Search Skills: Recommended Databases

The problems and solutions, mainly library services, are introduced according to the search process for academic writing.

Training Session

Academic Information Literacy Section provides "Database training sessions" that are useful for writing reports, treatises, and learning. 
https://www.lib.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/library/literacy/training

How to Access Databases and E-journals from Off-Campus: EZproxy

There are methods such as using via EZproxy and registering as a user.
https://www.lib.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/library/literacy/user-guide/campus/offcampus

 

Literacy Website

The "Literacy" website is where you can search, utilize, and learn about academic information at the University of Tokyo. See also the introduction leaflet.
▼"Let’s use the Literacy website! / Let’s use the databases!"(4p)

Let's use the Literacy website!
Let's use the Literacy website!

Please refer to the "Methods for using Databases" page for further information.

How to Use UTokyo OPAC

■MyOPAC Services

[Free Services]How to use MyOPAC

★[Paid Services]MyOPAC Delivery Request Service

■Reference Services

ASK Service

The ASK Service is a library reference service via the internet. Answers are usually provided by E-mail.
https://opac.dl.itc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/opac/ask/?lang=1


 

Tips On Library Facilities

Connecting to the Internet in the Komaba Library

How to use a Self-checkout Machine

This video helps you can use the Self-checkout machine smoothly! You can avoid problems such as an alert at the exit gate caused by the inappropriate lending process.

■Useful Information for Writing Academic Papers

Writing Support - Literacy site

Support for writing reports, theses, and other papers Basics you need to know before you start writing academic papers!
https://www.lib.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/library/literacy/user-guide/campus/report 

Materials & Resource - Center for Academic Writing at Komaba

The Komaba Academic Writing Center (CAWK) site provides helpful information for each academic writing process as follows. 
"Conducting online research," "Read," "Deciding on a topic or theme," "Write; Choose Your Expression/Write Citation & References in Japanese."
Also, recommend watching the videos "What is writing a report?", "Collecting and organizing materials," and "What is a citation - distinguishing between your opinion and the opinion of others?" in the "Academic Skills Mini-Lecture Series."
https://park.itc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/cawk/en/materials_resources.html

Academic Skills Book List

The following list is a compilation of books on academic skills from the Komaba Library. 

E-book List is below. It includes e-books in English as well.

Reference Management Software

The excellent management of the collected literature, including previous studies and reference materials, will help you to improve the efficiency of your studies and research.

Reference management software
How to use RefWorks
How to use Mendeley
How to use EndNote Online

Research Ethics/Copyright

Check the rules you need to know to write a report/academic paper, such as correct citations, copyright, and research ethics.
Writing Support>Prohibiting plagiarism and research ethics

■Others

E-books on Learning Japanese Language

E-books on learning Japanese are available for international students.
https://library.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp/news/e-books0113-EN.pdf
The list is shared by the Libraries for Engineering and Information Science & Technology.