Major Collection



These are representative collections held by the University of Tokyo Library System. Since some of the collections belonging to faculties are stored at research institutes, consult the corresponding library before using the material.

Library Collection Collector Content Volume Catalog
General Library Akiba Collection Akiba, Yoshimi
(1896-1952)
Shibai Banzuke(list of the title and the casts of the Kabuki presented on the stage) during the Empo-Meiji eras 16,831 Transcribed catalog (General Library's Reference Room)
Gakken Collection Doi, Keizo
(1866-1931)
Japanese and Chinese medical books 4,618 Catalog of University of Tokyo General Library Old Medical Books (published in 1988)
Hozumi Collection Hozumi, Nobushige
(1856-1926)
Various edition and manuscripts of Goseibai-shikimoku and the commentaries 1,053
Books Illustrative of English Printing British Gpvernment Rare books illustrative of the history of English printing 182 Exhibition of books illustrative of the history of English printing and book production [General Library's Reference Room]
Katei Collection Watanabe, Katei
(1864-1926)
Japanese fictions in the Edo period 1,851 Catalog of Katei Collection (published in 1982)
Morse Collection Morse, Edward Sylvester(1831-1925) Literatures on Japan and natural science 1,200 Card Catalog of the Collection
[General Library's Reference Room]
Nanki Collection Tokugawa, Yorimichi
(1872-1925)
Collection of Tokugawa, the feudal lord of Kii Province (including Yoshunro-bon, Sakata-bon, Gakkai-bon 96,000 Catalogue of the Nanki Bunko (published in 1914) 1914
Ogai Collection Mori, Ogai
(1862-1922)
Biographical or historical books, Bukan(directory of Daimyo and Hatamoto), old maps in the Edo period, European literature 18,700 Catalog of Ogai Collection
[General Library's Reference Rooms]
Rahder Collection Rahder, Johannes Rahder (1898-?) Literature on Indian philosophy, Sanskrit characters and westen philosophy 1,300
Seishu Collection Watanabe, Makoto
(1840-1911)
Chinese classics and Japanese literature 25,000 Catalog of old versions of Seishu
Tanaka Collection Tanaka, Yoshio
(1838-1915)
Literature on medical plants, botany, zoology, agriculture, fishery, forestry 6,000 Catalog of books contributed by Baron Mitsuo Tanaka (published in 1936)
Material on Forestry of Mito-Tokugawa Tokugawa, Nuneyoshi
(1897-1989)
Material on forestry, etc. 638 Online Public Catalog ("Rinsei" file)
Material of the Society of National Policy (Kokusaku kenkyukai bunsho) Minobe, Yoji
(1900-1953)
Literature on politics and economic policy during the World War II 6,624 Online Public Catalog ("kokusaku" file)
Faculty of Law Taiwan Collection
Literature on civil law, etc. 3054
Yoshino Collection Yoshino, Sakuzo (1878-1933) Literature on history of modern Japanese politics 8,716
Gaikotsu Collection Miyatake, Gaikotsu Newspapers, magazines and books published by Gaikotsu Miyatake and his manuscripts

Faculty of Medicine Kure Collection Kure, Shuzo Manuscripts on history of medicine 160
Ribbert Collection Ribbert, Hugo
(1885-1920)
Classical literature on medicine (chiefly on pathology) 900 Ribberts Bibliothek
Waldeyer Collection Wilhelm von Waldeyer-
Hartz(1836-1921)
Literature on anatomy, zoology and anthropology ca. 2,000
Faculty of Letters (Dept. of Japanese Literature)
Motoori Collection
Motoori family Own handwriting and transcription by Norinaga and his students/discples 3,534 Carad catalog on collections(Faculty of Letters)
2,167 items are stored in 1978, 79 and 80 versions of "Microform Catalogs held in National Institute of Japanese Literature"
Faculty of Economics Adam Smith Collection Smith, Adam (1723-1790) Former library of Adam Smith 312 "Catalog of Adam Smith Library" by Tadao Yanaihara, 1951
Engel Collection Engel, Ernst (1821-96) Former library of Ernst Engel 1,124
Menger Collection Menger, Karl
Part of former library of Karl Menger 80
College of Arts and Sciences Old version of Edo Books Horikiri, Morinosuke Books published in Edo on literature 237
Kitani Collection Kitani, Hogin Materials on Joruri in late Edo and Meiji 228
Kano Collection Kano, Kokichi Diaries, etc. of Kokichi Kano


HOME